
MOTOR VEHICLES 

 

Motor Vehicle Rental 

 

Summary  

Wisconsin law regulates car rental company damage claims against consumers (see Wisconsin 

Statutes sections 344.57 to 344.579).  This law applies to private passenger cars rented for less 

than 30 days.  It does not apply to a long-term lease, or to a car that a dealer rents to a consumer 

while the dealer repairs or services the consumer’s car. 

  

 A car rental company may hold a renter liable for any of the following unless the company 

gives the renter a “damage waiver” (the law provides some limitations): 

 

 Car damage caused by an accident that occurs while the car is under the rental agreement. 

 Car damage caused by the intentional, reckless or wanton misconduct of the renter or an 

authorized driver of the rental car. 

 

 If a company offers a “damage waiver” for a price, the “damage waiver” must comply with 

certain requirements.  The company must give the renter a written notice explaining renter 

liability (see below). 

 

 If a company advertises its car rental rates, it must disclose any “damage waiver” charge.  It 

must also disclose that purchase of a “damage waiver” is optional. 

 

 A company may use a renter’s credit card as a deposit for the estimated cost of the rental, 

which is the daily rate (including any “damage waiver” payment) multiplied by the number 

of rental days.  But a company may not use a renter’s credit card as a deposit for car 

damages.  

 

 A company may use a renter’s credit card to pay for damages for which the renter is liable 

only if the company obtains the renter’s authorization before the company processes the 

payment and after the renter’s total liability is determined. 

 

Renter Liability Notice 

 

A car rental company that offers “damage waivers” for a price must conspicuously display the 

following notice at the rental site (see Wisconsin Administrative Code chapter ATCP 118): 

 



WHAT IF YOU DAMAGE A RENTAL CAR? 

We Must Provide You With  

An Important Notice About Your 

 Liability For Damage To A Rental Car 

 

A car rental company that offers “damage waivers” for a price must also provide each renter with 

a written notice before the renter signs a rental agreement (ATCP 118).  The renter must sign the 

notice, which must be printed on a separate piece of paper in a specified format.  The company 

must give the renter one copy and keep another copy for 6 years. The notice must look like this: 

 

 

NOTICE ABOUT LIABILITY FOR DAMAGE TO THE RENTAL CAR 

 

The State of Wisconsin requires us to provide the following information about your liability for 

damage to a rental car and the purchase of a damage waiver. 

 

LIABILITY FOR DAMAGE TO THE RENTAL CAR 

 

The rental agreement makes you and any authorized driver liable for any damage to the rental car 

caused by an accident or intentional, reckless or wanton misconduct. Total liability for any damage is 

limited to: 

 

1)    reasonable repair costs, less discounts available to us, or the fair market value of the car, 

whichever is less, and 

 

2)    actual and reasonable towing and up to two days storage costs. 

 

INSURANCE OR CREDIT CARD COVERAGE 

 

Liability for any damage may be covered by your personal insurance policy or credit card 

agreement. Check your insurance policy or credit card agreement about coverage. 

 

DAMAGE WAIVER COVERAGE 

 

A damage waiver is not insurance coverage.  If you purchase a damage waiver for _____ per day, we 

will waive our right to hold you or any authorized driver liable for damage. Even if you buy a 

damage waiver, you and any authorized driver will remain liable for damage if any of the following 

apply: 

 



1)   The damage is caused by you, or any authorized driver, intentionally or by reckless or 

wanton misconduct. 

 

2)   The damage occurs while you, or any authorized driver, operates the car in this state while 

under the influence of an intoxicant or other drug, as described by the laws of this state. 

 

3)   The damage occurs while you, or any authorized driver, operates the car in another state 

while under the influence of an intoxicant or other drug, as described by the laws of that 

state. 

 

4) The damage occurs while you, or any authorized driver, is engaged in a race, speed, or 

endurance contest. 

 

5) The damage occurs while you or any authorized driver is using, or has direct another to use, 

the car in the commission of a misdemeanor, or a felony, as defined by s. 939.60, Stats. 

 

6) The damage occurs while you, or any authorized driver, use the car to carry persons or 

property for hire. 

 

7) The damage occurs while you or any authorized driver is using the car outside the United 

States and Canada, unless use outside of these countries is permitted under the rental 

agreement. 

 

8) The damage occurs while the car is operated on a surface not intended for use by private 

passenger vehicles. 

 

9) You provide us misleading or false information in order to rent the car, which causes us to 

rent you the car when we would not have otherwise done so, or on terms to which we would 

not have otherwise agreed. 

 

10) You, or an authorized driver, who was operating the car when an accident occurred, fail to 

promptly report, to us and the police, the accident resulting in damage to the car. 

 

NOTICE OF RIGHT TO INSPECT DAMAGE 

 

If the car is damaged, we may not collect any amount for the damage unless you, or an 

authorized driver against whom we claim liability, have been promptly notified of your and your 

insurers’ right to inspect the unrepaired car within two working days after we were notified of 

the damage.  If you request, we must also give you copies of two estimates we have obtained from 

repair shops regarding any damage claim. 

 

 

 



COMPLAINTS 

 

If you have any complaints about our attempt to hold you liable for damages or would like a 

copy of the state law that fully sets forth your rights and obligations, contact: 

 

Wisconsin Consumer Protection Bureau 

PO Box 8911, Madison, WI 53718-8911 

608-224-4953 or toll-free 1-800-422-7128 

 

Date: ________________________Renter’s Signature_____________________________ 

 

 

Enforcement 
 

The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) enforces 

Wisconsin Statutes sections 344.57 to 344.579.  DATCP also enforces the disclosure rules under 

Wisconsin Administrative Code chapter ATCP 118.  DATCP adopted these rules under authority 

of Wisconsin Statutes section 344.576(3)(c). 

 

Injunction and Restitution 

 

DATCP may seek a court order, under Wisconsin Statutes section 344.579(2)(a), enjoining law 

violations and ordering restitution to consumers.  The Department of Justice or a district attorney 

may represent DATCP in court. 

 

Civil Forfeiture 
 

DATCP may initiate a court action, under Wisconsin Statutes section 344.579(2)(b), to recover a 

civil forfeiture from a law violator.  The court may impose a civil forfeiture of not less than $500 

nor more than $1000 for each violation.  The Department of Justice or a district attorney may 

represent DATCP in court. 

 


